Garden Party 2017


Our Purpose

The Shore Foundation is committed to supporting Shore to achieve its vision to be the leading comprehensive school in Australia.

Our Focus

We continue to focus investment and energy into the four following areas:

1. Scholarships and Bursaries
2. Learning Support
3. Teacher Development
4. Capital requirements

Our Role

Fundraising -  Through donations, gifts and events.
Friend-raising -  Through effective communication and service to the School community, including past students, parents, families and friends.
Bequests -  To actively encourage those who can to bequeath assets to the Shore Foundation.
Management -  To manage invested funds to optimise long term growth and security.

A message from the Shore Foundation President

To uphold our integrity and ensure our programmes and events are in line with our mission, we constantly reflect on our primary role - to assist the School to achieve its vision to be the leading comprehensive school in Australia.

It is this vision that drives our commitment to programmes such as the capital campaign for the new RAI Grant Physical Education Centre, support for our Country Boarders, Indigenous students and Educational Services at Shore. We are also increasing our investment in new areas at Shore such as supporting the Head of Careers role. Foundation events are popular with the Shore Community.  These include the Icebreaker, our All Sports Lunch and also the Garden Party. 

We are very grateful to the Shore community for allowing us to provide more opportunities for our students. In 2024 we are helping 85 boys with a Shore education. 

We look forward to continuing our partnership with the Shore community, to achieve the best possible outcomes for all students.

Ms Danielle Avery


The Shore Foundation Limited was established as a Public Company by The Council of Sydney Church of England Grammar School (Shore) in 1976. The Foundation comprises members of the Shore community and its affairs are managed in accordance with its Constitution. Click HERE to view our Constitution.

Board members

The role of The Shore Foundation is to assist and support the School to develop and maintain excellence in education, facilities and community service at Shore. The Foundation’s affairs are managed by the Board of Directors providing the necessary direction for its programmes and day-to-day activities. 

Office Bearers 

President - Ms Danielle Avery
Vice President - Mr Drew Hall
Vice President - Mrs Melissa Widner
Honorary Treasurer - Mr Nigel Virgo  
Honorary Secretary - Mr Patrick Joyce


Mr James Plowman
Mrs Michele Huey 
Mr Alex Hone
Mr Nick Hamilton 

Ex Officios

Executive Director and OBU Representative - Mr David Mason-Jones
Chairman, School Council - Mr Robert Clarke
Headmaster - Dr John Collier
School Council Representative - Mr Stephen Woodhill

Foundation Honours

The Foundation is grateful for the friends and benefactors who have shown outstanding service and exceptional generosity to Shore. Please click HERE to view the Foundation Honours.



All Sports Fellowship Online Donation
Pavilion Seat Naming Application Form
Picket Naming Application Form
Graythwaite Donation Form
Bob Gowing Museum Donation Form



The Shore Foundation

Mail: The Shore Foundation, PO Box 1221, North Sydney NSW 2059 (Australia)
Tel: +61 2 9956 1179
Fax: +61 2 9956 1175